Spotify announced the availability of a new option
In the near future users will finally be allowed to block other users directly, without having to contact customer support. A function considered very useful by those who frequent the well-known audio streaming platform, which required it for some time and on which the developers had actually been working for a couple of years before having to set it aside for a period to give priority to other updates considered most important.
Blocking a user on Spotify: how does it work?
The new feature is part of that series of updates that Spotify continues to work on in order to offer the best possible experience to its users, promoting a safe environment for listening to music and podcasts. In an email to The Verge, a spokesperson for the popular on-demand streaming music service wrote, “At Spotify we are committed to delivering the best possible listening experience to our users. Privacy is something that is, and always will be, enormously important to us and our blocking function, which gives users more control, is the last step towards this commitment. ”
The option is hosted in the new menu within the profile of a friend user, where the classic command “do not follow anymore” is already found, next to which now also the “block” command appears. Once activated, the block hides all the activities of a contact from their friends list.
In this way, the blocked person will no longer be able to access the page, public playlists and in general the activities of those who blocked him. But contrary to what happens on other platforms, including social networks, the block will not be definitive, and in case of change of mind, it can be revoked: under the profile of the “offending” contact, in fact, the item “unblock” will appear, through which will be able to delete the operation and then retrace his steps. Spotify’s new blocking feature will be available to users this week.